This website uses technical and third-party cookies to ensure a better browsing experience. To learn more and become familiar with the cookies used, please visit the Cookies page.

By continuing to browse this site, you automatically consent to the use of cookies.

   18/07/2021 · Stage 3     FÉNIS  >  COGNE (Valnontey)   km. 149.0   



The National Park of Grand Paradiso has hosted the final stage of the 57° Giro Ciclistico Internazionale della Valle d’Aosta - Mont Blanc. The stage started from the majestic castle of Fenis, 149 km of hard climbs and steep descents towards the finish line in Valnontey (Cogne). The riders, coming from yesterday's hard stage, control the race. A huge protagonist of today's race is Alessandro Verre from Team Colpack Ballan, thinking of the polka dot jersey, that takes the KOM of Doues, Verrogne and Les Combes. His energies started to decrease at the bottom of Cogne's climb. Georg Steinhauser wins the stage with a confident gap. The first part of the stage, from Fenis to Chatillon and Saint Christophe, is a perfect path for the battle between the british Lewis Askey (Groupama FDJ) and the belgian Asbjorn Hellemose (VC Mendrisio). The peloton doesn't attack and the leaders of the GC transit to the finish line with a 7 minutes gap. The 57° edition of Giro VDA has finally come to an end. Reuben Thompson takes the win, as well as the polka dot jersey and the white jersey. Behind him, with a time gap of 1'57'' come Gianmarco Garofoli (Development Team DSM) and 3'28'' Mattia Petrucci (Team Colpack Ballan). Omar El Gouzi (Iseo Rime Carnovali) is the fourth in the overall classification, followed by Floria Lipowitz (Tirol KTM). The riders that finish the giro in the Top 10 are Martin Gutierrez (Eolo Kometa), Mulueberhan (Team Qhubeka), Balmer (Groupama FDJ), Van Der Beken (Lotto Soudal) and Hellemose (VC Mendrisio).


The stage in videos


The stage in pictures



   Associazione Sportiva Dilettantistica Società Ciclistica Valdostana  ©2012
   Via C. Viola, 1 - 11026 Pont-Saint-Martin (Valle d'Aosta / Vallée d'Aoste)